How to Book a Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1)

How to Book a Murder is out now from Crooked Lane Books! 

Perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Kate Carlisle, in award-winning author Cynthia Kuhn’s series debut, small-town bookseller and literary event planner Emma Starrs is out to close the book on a killer intent on crashing the party.

To help save her family’s floundering Colorado bookstore, Starlit Bookshop, newly minted Ph.D. Emma Starrs agrees to plan a mystery-themed dinner party for her wealthy, well-connected high school classmate Tabitha Baxter. It’s a delightful evening of cocktails and conjecture until Tabitha’s husband, Tip—hosting the affair in the guise of Edgar Allan Poe’s detective C. Auguste Dupin—winds up murdered.

In a heartbeat, Emma and her aunt Nora, a famous mystery writer, become suspects. Emma is sure the party’s over for Starlit events, until celebrated author Calliope Nightfall, whose gothic sensibilities are intrigued by the circumstances, implores the bookseller to create a Poe-themed launch event for her latest tome. Throwing a bash to die for while searching for additional clues is already enough to drive Emma stark raven mad, but another shocking crime soon reveals that Silvercrest has not yet reached the final chapter of the puzzling case.

Someone in this charming artistic community has murder on the mind, and if Emma cannot outwit the killer, she and her beloved aunt will land behind bars, to walk free nevermore.

“An unbeatable combination of Golden Age styling and modern-day intrigue, woven through with wit and keen observation” — Angela M. Sanders, author of the Witch Way Librarian and Joanna Hayworth Vintage Clothing mysteries

“Beautifully written and so full of love for books and their authors and readers” — Vicki Delany, national bestselling author of the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mysteries

“A fast-paced delightful read” ~ Debra Goldstein, author of the Sarah Blair Mystery series

“With her trademark humor, engaging characters, twisty plotting, and literary references sure to charm mystery fans, she has created the bookstore we all want to browse in” –Laura DiSilverio, national best-selling and award-winning author of The Readaholics Book Club mysteries

“A gifted storyteller, Kuhn has created a delightful cast of quirky characters and a bookstore full of charm as a backdrop to an intriguing murder mystery.” — Kathy Aarons, national bestselling author of the Chocolate Covered Mysteries

“With its intelligent sleuth, bookish setting, and twisty plot, How to Book a Murder is a booklover’s dream come true!” — Mary Angela, author of the Happy Camper cozy mystery series and the Professor Prather academic mystery series 

“Smart, suspenseful, and brimming with intrigue, Kuhn crafts the perfect page-turner in a town and bookshop so thoroughly crafted and real.” — Maggie Barbieri, author of the Murder 101 series

Available in hardcover, ebook, and audio!


Launch Events

ONLINE

Twelve Days of Cozies (December 1-12, 2021)

Great Escapes Blog Tour (December 6-19, 2021)

Creating Conversations (December 7, 2021) Holiday Celebration Panel with Ellen Byron, Jennifer J. Chow, and Becky Clark

Murder by the Book (December 9, 2021) Conversation with Laura Bradford

Sisters in Crime-Colorado Book Club Discussion (December 15, 2021)

IN PERSON

Books Are Awesome Signing (December 11, 2021)

Tattered Cover Bookstore (January 19, 2022) Crime Writers in Conversation Panel with Becky Clark, Kate Lansing, and Barbara Nickless


Many thanks to all of the event hosts and the participants in the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tour!

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

December 6 – The Book Diva’s Reads – SPOTLIGHT

December 6 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

December 7 – Mochas, Mysteries and Meows – CHARACTER GUEST POST

December 7 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW

December 8 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

December 9 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

December 10 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

December 10 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

December 11 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

December 11 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

December 12 – Laura’s Interests – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – REVIEW

December 14 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

December 14 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW

December 15 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – SPOTLIGHT

December 15 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

December 16 – Mysteries with Character – GUEST POST

December 16 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW  

December 17 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

December 17 – Diane Reviews Books – GUEST POST

December 18 – Author Elena Taylor’s Blog – REVIEW

December 19 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  

Bouchercon

October 17, 2020

The Bouchercon World Mystery Convention is online this year. Looking forward to this panel–hope you can join us!

Madcap Mayhem: The Age of Screwball Comedy

Screwball comedies in the 1930s and 40s took a light poke at mores during the Depression. How do today’s authors build on this tradition with improbable set-ups, quirky characters, and wacky plots?

Heather Haven (M), Kellye Garrett, Cynthia Kuhn, Heather Weidner, Elizabeth Little

For more information, please visit the full schedule of events.

 

 

Academic Mystery Giveaway

Happy to be collaborating with four wonderful authors to bring you a giveaway opportunity: five winners will win one ebook each and one grand prize winner will win all five!

And if you like academic mysteries, among the five of us, there are more than twenty books in our series:

You’ll have over thirty entry options between Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Newsletter Sign-Ups and More. The giveaway opens on September 15th and will close at 11:59 PM EST on September 20th. We will randomly choose the winners shortly afterward and announce the winners on our websites and social media; you can also see the winners from the giveaway link once we select them. Good Luck to Everyone!!!

Click here to enter: Rafflecopter Academic Mystery Giveaway

 

 

Facebook Launch Party

You are invited to the Facebook launch party for The Study of Secrets (Lila Maclean Academic Mystery #5) and Nora Page’s Read or Alive (Bookmobile Mysteries #3) on May 27, 2020 at 5 pm Pacific / 6 pm Mountain / 7 pm Central / 8 pm Eastern. Hosted by Marie at A Cozy Experience, who kindly provided this graphic:

How to attend: Visit the event page, click “going,” and invite your friends! The more, the merrier. Once the party begins, all you have to do is click on the discussions tab to participate. We would love for you to join us!

The Study of Secrets

The Study of Secrets (Lila Maclean Academic Mystery #5) is now available for pre-order! 

Publication date: May 26, 2020 from Henery Press

There could be nowhere more fitting for English professor Lila Maclean to spend her sabbatical than in a proper Victorian mansion. The whimsical Callahan House seems to have materialized from the pages of the mystery novels she is researching, with its enchanting towers, cozy nooks, and charming library. Unfortunately, it also features a body in the study.

Residents of Larkston have long believed that the Callahan family is cursed—the murder on the estate sets the town buzzing. Wild rumors are fueled by a gossipy blogger who delights in speculation, and further crimes only intensify the whispers and suspicions. A newly discovered manuscript, however, appears to expose startling facts beneath the fictions. When Lila steps in to sort the truth from the lies, it may cost her everything, as someone wants to make dead certain that their secrets stay hidden.

“Fans of the Lila Maclean Academic Mystery Series will be delighted to accompany their favorite English professor-sleuth on sabbatical from Stonedale University—and even more thrilled to learn that her temporary escape from the ivy-covered halls of academe does not include a break in solving murders. In The Study of Secrets, award-winning author Cynthia Kuhn once again offers mystery lovers what they crave most: a smart, thoughtful, and fiercely-determined heroine; an intriguing puzzle; an idyllic setting, and a cast of suspects worthy of Agatha Christie—with a charming side of humor.” — Lisa Q. Mathews, author of The Ladies Smythe & Westin Mysteries

“Witty and smart, Lila Maclean is everyone’s favorite English professor. In her latest adventure, secrets abound, and only Lila can decipher fact from fiction. An atmospheric mansion, a missing manuscript, and a haunting disappearance add to the novel’s appeal. But it’s the fast-paced plot that will keep readers up long past their bedtimes, unraveling clues to multiple mysteries. A delightful read by one of my favorite authors!” — Mary Angela, author of the Professor Prather Mysteries and Happy Camper Mysteries

“Cynthia Kuhn’s Lila Maclean series has been a welcome addition to the academic mystery canon, and I am happy to report that her newest, The Study of Secrets, only continues to delight. With its smart and intrepid protagonist, witty writing, and insightful look into the power struggles that erupt when literary and academic egos collide, this clever and puzzling whodunit earns top marks in my book.” — Leslie Karst, Lefty Award-nominated author of the Sally Solari Mysteries

“The Study of Secrets hooked me on page one and refused to let go until I’d stayed up well past my bedtime to finish. The always likable Lila Maclean will keep you cheering for her and worrying about her as she faces a cast of characters who vary from mysterious to quirky to downright sinister. With secrets abounding, Lila—and the reader—must constantly question who they can trust. Beautifully written, The Study of Secrets teems with fascinating characters, a maze of a plot, and description so deep and real, you can smell the woodsmoke mingling with the pines.” — Annette Dashofy, USA Today Bestselling Author of the Zoe Chamber Mystery Series

Amazon  Barnes & Noble  IndieBound

 

ps: On May 27, please join us on Facebook for the launch party